Mark your calendars! The 12th Annual iBIO iCON Awards will be held on October 2 from 6:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. at The Chicago Botanic Garden.

Every year, the iCON Awards honors the accomplishments of outstanding innovators and leaders in the life sciences community whose work provides the basis for breakthroughs in patient care worldwide. This year, we also want to celebrate the contributions of iBIO member organizations in the communities they serve. Whether it’s expanding access to STEM education or improving public health, we want to hear about it.

Held at the beautiful Chicago Botanic Garden, the evening brings together some of Illinois’ top life sciences professionals and innovators to help the iBIO Institute realize its goal of creating a globally recognized life sciences center in Chicago and the surrounding Midwest region. We promise a wonderful and memorable evening featuring aVIP reception, cocktail hour, networking, multiple dinner stations, award ceremony and raffle awards.

Click herefor sponsorship opportunities

Registerto attend the 2018 iCON Awards

The iBIO Institute a 501(c)3 Public Charity. Proceeds from the iCON awards will be used to support the mission of the iBIO Institute is to orchestrate business leadership in delivery of world-class educational programs for girls grades 3-8 and job-creating new technology ventures.

2018 iCON Award Honorees

Civic iCON Award – The Stanley Manne Children’s Research Institute
For more than 30 years, the research at Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago has been conducted through Stanley Manne Children’s Research Institute, which focuses on improving child health and transforming pediatric medicine to ensure healthier futures through the relentless pursuit of knowledge. Thomas Shanley, MD, Chairman of Pediatrics at Lurie Children’s Hospital and President and Chief Research Officer at The Manne Research Institute, will accept the award on behalf of the organization.

iCON Entrepreneurial Award – Sean Nolan, CEO of AveXis
Nolan has served as the CEO of AveXis since 2015 and recently led the company through a dynamic growth period which included the generation of transformational clinical data for its lead product that treats patients suffering from Type 1 Spinal Muscular Atrophy (SMA), the number one genetic cause of infant mortality.

iCON Innovator Award – Dr. Maryellen Giger, the A.N. Pritzker Professor of Radiology at the University of Chicago
Dr. Giger is considered to be one of the pioneers in the development of computer-aided diagnosis (CAD). She has authored or co-authored more than 220 peer-reviewed journal articles, is an inventor on over 35 U.S. patents, and serves as a reviewer for various national and international granting agencies including the National Institute of Health and the U.S. Army.

iCON Knowledge Builder Award – Allison Hennings, biology teacher at Oak Park River Forest High School
Ms. Hennings leads the school’s award-winning independent research program at OPRF. Before becoming a high school teacher, Ms. Hennings was an intensive care nurse at Loyola University’s Medical Center.